IN THIS ARTICLE:

    Google My Business (GMB) is a free and easy-to-use tool that allows businesses to manage how their listing appears in Google Search. With a Google My Business account, you can engage with customers and showcase what differentiates your business from the competition.

    If you want to make the most of local search opportunities, you might decide to bring in an SEO team to optimize your GMB listing and leverage a location-based strategy to boost your online presence. In this case, one of the first things you’ll want to do is learn how to add a user to Google My Business.

    When you add users to Google My Business, you can grant your SEO agency access to your business’ listing without having to share your personal credentials.  Today, we’re going to walk through the difference between Google My Business user roles, then how to add users to Google My Business.

    Download a guide to google tools for SEO

    A Guide to Google Tools for SEO

    Download this guide to learn how to make the best use of the free, powerful tools Google provides to improve your SEO processes and performance.

    Google My Business — The Basics

    Google My Business User Roles

    GMB user permissions restrict the type of actions users can take your account. When you go through the “add When you go through the add manager to Google My Business process, you’ll want to choose which level of permissions to grant your new user(s). GMB user permissions restrict the type of actions users can take in your account.

    There are three different Google My Business roles:

    1. Primary Owner: This is the highest level of access. Whoever claims the listing will initially be the primary owner unless they transfer ownership to another individual. 
    2. Owner: Profiles can have multiple owners, and each of them can add or remove profiles, edit business details, and add or remove users.
    3. Manager: Profiles can have multiple managers, and each of them can edit business details, though they cannot add or remove users.

    Here’s a quick breakdown of the permission levels to choose from when you add users to your GMB account.

    1 – Primary Owner

    While a site can have multiple owners, there is only one primary owner. The business owner is typically the account’s primary owner. That way, you retain total authority over your account. The primary owner cannot be removed from an account unless they transfer the primary owner role to someone else.

    2 – Owner

    If your business has multiple locations, you might grant owner permissions to a new user or an SEO agency so they can optimize your profile. Owners can edit all of the information for each of your business profiles and link them to your Google Ads account. They can also add or remove users and remove business listings. They have all the same capabilities as the Primary Owner, but they cannot remove the primary owner.

    3 – Manager

    Manager permission gives access to a user who is conducting day-to-day operations. This level of permission grants access to edit business details such as hours of operation, location photos, and listings for products or services. A manager can also reply to reviews and add new posts. Managers cannot add or remove people. Nor can they add or remove a listing. They do have the ability to remove themselves as manager, though.

    How to Add User to Google My Business

    Now that you know what level of access each permission setting allows, you can confidently add new users to your account.

    How to add users to Google My Business in Six Easy Steps:

    Step 1. Sign in to your Google My Business account.

    Once you’ve signed in and you’re on the dashboard, you’ll see the dashboard navigation on the left and widgets on the right.

    GMB how to add users screenshot

    Step 2. Choose the location to add a user.

    If you have more than one location, choose which one you want to add a new user to.

    Step 3. Select user.

    To add users to Google My Business, click on the “Users” option on the left menu. This opens a new window.

    Step 4. Click on the “Invite New User” icon.

    The new window will list all users attached to the account. As an owner, you’ll see the icon to invite new users in the top right corner of the window. Click this button.

    Click the button to add a user to Google My Business

    Step 5. Add an email & select the user’s role.

    Enter the new user’s email and assign them a user role.

    Where to assign Google My Business user roles

    Step 6. Click invite.

    After choosing the appropriate role for the new user, you can click Invite. This automatically sends an email, prompting them to accept your invitation. When they accept, you’ll receive a notification.

    Do You Want to Learn More About Local Search?

    If you still have questions about Google My Business, or if you want to learn more about optimizing your Google Business Listing for a location-based SEO strategy, we’re here to help. Victorious has an experienced team of strategists who prioritize your needs and use time-proven tactics to drive growth for your business.

    Contact us today to learn more about our local SEO agency.

      START RANKING TODAY

      Get a Free SEO Consultation

        Join the digital marketers who subscribe to our blog*